2 Comments

I am a huge fan of these card decks. I have been using them or drawing inspiration from them for many years. I use them with family and friends. I also love them on 1-1 meetings.

My experience was always very positive, I find that even the people who might be reluctant at opening up generally were enjoying it. It gives a container, or a “good excuse” to go vulnerable.

To answer to your second question, I think I’m mostly curious about knowing more on my people’s views on family and education - how this was for them and how they imagine it for themselves now that they’re in the age of potentially building one.

Finally, the main rule I insist on is “don’t interrupt” - people have as much time as they need or want to answer to the question. This ensure you can get to the bottom of things + make the space feels safer.

Expand full comment

Hi Pavel,

Thank you for starting this thread! I will share openly and to the best of my knowledge, although I need to preface this by saying - rightfully or wrongly - my friend groups are rather distinct and they do tend to share certain qualities based on where and how I met the individuals within them. In that sense, I do not think one size necessarily fits all here.

Tackling your questions in turn:

Have you ever played a similar card game, and what was your experience like? No, I have not played a similar card game before although, looking at the picture, I do think I have seen it in book / stationery shops. I do love a good card game so I am thankful for your reminder!

What kinds of question(s) would you most like to ask someone you think you know well but are unsure about how to approach? This would largely depend on the individuals I was playing the game with. Speculating here but my childhood friends would not be up for this; they would find it too uncomfortable and unnecessary (again, rightly or wrongly). We might have been thick as thieves for too long for this to truly work. It might but it would require some serious boundaries to be broken. My friend group from Uni would definitely enjoy a few rounds and I think everyone would be relatively transparent. We would go over all the categories, with no prejudice against any (maybe with the slight exception of Tender Things). I personally would be very interested in how they think they are doing in saving the world (we shared a mutual aspiration to do so), what lessons they would pass onto their kids (many of them have children now), and what they would have done differently in our Uni days if they had the chance. My work friends would be a mixed bag; some would like it and others would be absolutely petrified. I do not have an insight into the childhoods of many of them so getting a glimpse into their past and understanding how that has shaped them into who they are today would be wonderful.

How would you play this card game with your friend circle? What rules would you set? The only rule I can think of is to be respectful. I would never force anyone to share anything they do not feel comfortable sharing. As long as we are mindful of that but not forgetting the point of the game either, I think we should be ok.

To avoid making this rather awkward, I agree with the sentiment of you and your friends: some advance notice might be best!

Expand full comment